Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

By default, condoms are vegan-friendly, being made from trees. Non-vegan condoms are the special-needs version (i.e. for latex allergy sufferers), that are not as good.



Some condoms contain casein, a by-product of milk which by definition makes it non-vegan friendly.


This is a good point that I hadn't realised. It seems that both latex condoms and gloves can contain casein.

Apparently, this has messed up tests for latex allergy:

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0091674999...


Are you including the lubricants?


The traditional, non-vegan alternative would be lamb's intestines.




Consider applying for YC's Spring batch! Applications are open till Feb 11.

Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: